these people

hatid (London, 2010)

I’ve never been a wedding guy or an events shooter or even a landscape guy (but don’t get me wrong, I do appreciate those photography genres).  I don’t know but I found my joy in telling stories about other things. I like street photography and the documentary / reportage style.  I like telling stories with my photos– real life stories rather than made up ones.  That passion hit an intersection with my love and fascination with families.  I think families are the best thing in the world.  I wish I had the passion for photos much earlier in life so I could have recorded more memories.  Some are in my head but I’m sure if someone had a camera back then, we’d have more to look back at and have a good time reminiscing.

This is where I came up with my project I named  These People.  It’s a documentary approach to family photography.  It’s a personal story about each family through the lens of my camera. It’s a peek into the world of one family– how the live with each other, how they hang, and how they share life and love.  What I hope to accomplish is to tell many individual stories, all unique, and capturing the signature or fingerprint of each family.

Here’s the first family who collaborated with me on These People.  Meet my good friends, The Sicams.

best seats in the house (London, 2010)

kaleidoscope (London, 2010)

untitled (London, 2010)

BFF (London, 2010)

BFF (London, 2010)

sicam (London, 2010)

If you guys know anyone who wants this approach to family photography as an alternative to studio shots and wants to collaborate on this project, leave a comment or send me an email.  We can work out long or short term projects.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “these people

  1. I definitely prefer these to studio shots =) It seems more natural with a story behind it.

  2. kitkat says:

    classic. very natural. nice taf! i want to do this too! film?

Leave a Reply

